Gov't Affairs, Govt - County Boulder, Govt Boulder

New Council, New Faces for Boulder

The fight to move forward with a new municipal utility overshadowed The City Council election. However it’s important to note that besides the re-election of Matt Applebaum and Macon Cowles (who barely won another term), voters chose three brand-new Council members: Sam Weaver, Mary Young and Andrew Shoemaker. Several pro-business Council members chose not to run for re-election and KC Becker resigned her seat when she was appointed to replace Claire Levy in House District 13.

The result of the election is that the new City Council will be less business-friendly than the previous one. The question of who will become mayor will not be answered until Nov. 19th when the Council votes to select its leader.  Note: Boulder is the only city in Northern Colorado in which the mayor is elected by the City Council, not the electorate.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s