Candidates Lining Up for Fort Collins City Council Election

Petitions aren’t due until February 21 but quite a few candidates have already declared for the April 2 municipal election. Mayor Karen Weitkunat was the first to announce her decision to run for a 2nd term. So far it appears that District 1 will see the most competition, with M.L. Johnson, Bob Overbeck, Bryan Payne and Butch Stockover vying for the seat currently held by term-limited Ben Manvel. District 3 has only one candidate to date, Lynda Blake, as does District 5, in which Ross Cuniff has announced for term-limited Kelly Ohlson’s seat. It’s anticipated that at least one more mayoral candidate will announce and possibly another candidate for District 3.

%d bloggers like this: